Uncategorized

Fear of Failure or Success

Is there a difference between fear of failure or fear of success? Simply put no. Fear is a sick cycle. If I’m scared of success then it ultimately means that I am scared I will become so successful that I won’t be able to keep up with demand & therefore will fail. Enter fear of failure. Fear of success definitely sounds like a more optimistic type of fear. However fear is still fear right? No matter what side you are on failure or success, the real question is what are we really scared of? Is it others opinions of our work, rejection, admiration, or simply the thought of putting ourselves out there?

Social media plays a big part in our lives today. I find myself at a place where I put myself out there but not wholeheartedly. I post a few photos, a few stories but I know I could be doing more. Social media is a lot like dating. There is a pressure to look nice & tell people about yourself, but not too much because then you might scare them away. You have to find a happy medium of what you want to share & what your audience wants. Often I feel that there is something big on the horizon that I want to share with everyone but I don’t want to spoil the surprise. What is the right amount of time to wait to share with everyone.

If 2020 has taught me anything it is to stop putting so much pressure on myself. Even sitting here writing this. Part of this blog is an old draft. I have maybe 10 or so drafts from the past two years on my profile. Not to sound braggy but they’re pretty good too. I’ve been so nervous to be vulnerable with you all. Yet if I expect to grow & flourish my art business & personal creativity I have to put myself out there.

So to sum it up, fear is fear no matter how you spin it. Honestly I’m tired of being scared. I’m ready to dive in & show you more of who I am as a creator. I love gaining a deeper understanding of an artist’s mind & I’m hoping that since you’re reading this, you feel the same way. So I’ll be sharing my old drafts on here over the next month. I hope it brings you inspiration, silliness & a better insight into who I am. Until next time, thank you for being here ♡

Peace & Love,

Nicole Joliada

Leave a comment